Beneath at Húrra with Blood Feud, Misþyrming, Grit Teeth & Stoic. (22/05/2014)

The night started off with Stoic, a band that was so uninteresting that I hardly remember it 7 hours later. I remember thinking to myself that the musicianship belonged to death metal, but it was flat and uninteresting and the singer reminded me of 90’s grunge. Which is never a good thing.

Second on stage was Grit Teeth a grindcore/Hardcore-punk band. A type of music I typically don’t like at all, but they surprised me. I found myself shaking my head to their music and actually quite enjoying it. This type of music not being my cup of tea I wont go into describing them as I do not feel suited to do so.
https://gritteeth.bandcamp.com/releases

Third on stage was Misþyrming, an Icelandic black metal band. That shoved the crowd into a world of chaos, where no light could ever come near. Their music as heavy as it was led with a style that reminded me of old Enslaved (of all things). It was a wonderful experience as well as horrid. Their music is a complex piece of art that I now must hear again.
https://misthyrming.bandcamp.com/releases

Then there was Blood Feud. A grand disappointment. I have their old album Hiding Behind The Light. Back then I loved this band, as much as I could love a death/thrash metal band that is. Now with one of the members replaced it feels empty and boring. That which made them unique is gone and what made them unique was how well they seemed to click together.

Last on stage was Beneath. I was rather displeased by the new singer to begin with, but tonight he felt engaging and brutal. Their performance last night was nothing short of amazing. The pit went nuts, someone got cut real bad there was blood everywhere it seemed. All the while we were hammered with this brutal technical death metal, that felt both engaging and interesting. Very unlike most tech-death where you loose interest at the 30th tempo change.

Leave a Reply

