Dauði & Djöfull í Hafnarfirði 1. & 2. Maí

This wonderful concert spanned a total of 2 nights, the first night being death metal the second black metal. One of those times where I would’ve shouted sign me up from the rooftops.

May 1st.

The night was kicked off by the band Úlfun a rather new death metal band. They were a lovely surprise but as it happens to be quite often with death metal, and especially melodic death metal it got pretty dry. I enjoyed about half their songs, the other half flew by me and it just wasn’t my thing. The sound felt hollow and I remember thinking through the entirety of their performance that there was something missing. Second and last on stage was the band Aeterna with their progressive death metal. It wasn’t at all their best performance. The sound again felt off (could be the speakers), they completely lost me in their progressive bits and again I only enjoyed about half of their performance. The on stage charisma of the singer was non-existent which sometimes works out great but that time it really didn’t. Only one band member seemed to be enjoying himself, one of the guitarists and in all honesty he made the performance worth my time.

May 2nd

The night was started off by the band Skuggsjá, a relatively new band, which immediately showed their dominance. Starting with an atmospheric backtrack and then blasting you away with heavy riffs and drums, followed by vocals that are not of this earth. A wonderful performance all in all with numerous tempo changes that were on the verge of being overbearing. Unfortunately Skuggsjá haven’t released any material that I could share but here’s their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Skuggsja?fref=ts Auðn took the stage next and as I have said before I love those guys. They started off with (if memory serves) the song Klerkaveldi and continued on playing most of their album and I completely lost it as Þjáning Heillar Þjóðar (the suffering of a nation) started playing. I don’t have anything bad to say about the entire affair, except that crowd participation was near nonexistent, but that can hardly be blamed on the band. I could go on in lengths of how and why I enjoy this band so much, but I’ll let a link suffice. I would like to hear something new from them though. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGqCzl5imCo Dynfari were the last on stage, they started off by lighting candles and incense. A rather strange beginning in my book but I rather liked it, it set a wonderful mood for their slow atmospheric black metal. I was captivated by their music and it inspired a certain state of bliss. Where I simply sat there and swayed to the music enjoying every bit of it. It felt like being swept into an empty void of nothing a state of perpetual numbness. It felt misanthropic and beautiful all at the same time. They closed the set with one of the songs from their first album called Vonleysi (lyrics below and link), but most of the set was comprised of songs from their new album Vegferð tímans. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyY4x5SXIxM

Vonleysi:
Þessar nætur
Svo endalausar
Safnist saman
Látnir draumar
Dauðar ástir
Brostnar vonir

Hyldýpi, nálgast
Umlykur, vonleysi

Ég hverf…
inn í fegurð tómleikans…

Rough translation:

Hopelessness:
These nights
Everlasting
Gather up
Dead dreams
Dead loves
Shattered hopes

The abyss, nears
Surrounds, hopelessness

I disappear..
Into the beauty of the emptiness..

Here’s a link to their new album: http://auralmusic.bandcamp.com/album/vegfer-t-mans

Leave a Reply

